Cycling to Work: a Bit of Bearish Cajoling

Posted on

Want to up your miles in preparation for the big ride? Look no further than your daily commute! Why put carbon into the atmosphere when you can burn off some fat and be ready for that box of donuts the staff bought for you? Get out of your car and onto your bike.

img_3489
Photo courtesy of Sunny Quach.

But even more important, cycling to work forces you to slow down and appreciate your surroundings. There is wildlife in most urban settings, and when you get off the freeway, you can see it sometimes. If you cycle long enough, you get to watch your neighbor’s morning routines. Instead of getting to work peeved that someone cut you off, you can get to work relaxed and happy.

Every ride is a different adventure. Sometimes I get to see wild turkeys, deer, snakes, coyotes, foxes, quail, and tons of squirrels and hares. The turkeys have their seasons. About now the toms are looking to mate, and they display their amazing tail plumage. Later, the hens will emerge with a bunch of babies. The babies grow up through the spring and summer. And I get to see that all.

Plus, you get to look bad-ass to the other cyclists who pass you by. “Hey, I see that guy out here every day, he must be dedicated.” And then there are the shirtless joggers. WOOF!

You may be thinking, “but Bear, I barely get to work on time as it is!” But I think you should run the numbers. My commute to work is about 13 miles. When there is no traffic, it usually takes me about 15 minutes. When there is ordinary traffic, it takes me about 30 minutes. And when the traffic is exceptional, it can take up to 50 minutes. Traffic is exceptional about ⅓ of the time. So, on a given week, my average commute is 31 minutes one way.

To ride those same 13 miles on my bike takes me about 40 minutes one way. So for only 20 extra minutes each day (not counting prep time), I get to burn about 1,000 calories.

The big down side is that I get to work sweaty and there’s no showers. But a bit of odor I can deal with. My increasing waist size, I cannot!

So, consider riding to work and making your mornings an adventure.

Love,
Your Bear

Leave a Reply

