Day 1 Recap

Posted on Updated on

Spectacular. That’s the best word I have for our trip from San Francisco to Santa Cruz yesterday. 83 miles. No rain. Light headwinds that didn’t really bother me. Two awesome climbs — one on 92 and one leading up to San Gregorio beach led to some perfect descents.

20140602-032852-12532549.jpg

The best part of the day for me was when we were climbing 92. I could see the line of cyclists ahead of me. And I could see the different kinds of people. Different races, sexes, body types, and skill levels. But the line was perfect.

Everyone had made extraordinary efforts to be there. Everyone was putting out there maximum effort on a very difficult road. No shoulder. Rough pavement. Lots if scary traffic. But everyone rode up that damned hill to honor there loved ones and to improve their own lives.

Inspirational.

To the gentleman with the amazing thighs: thank you for riding in front of me up the hill.

And thank you to all my readers who greeted me yesterday!

Looking forward to 109 miles from Santa Cruz to King City today.

Love,
Your Bear

PS: I’m having trouble uploading photos. I’ll keep trying but look for posts in the days to come.

2 thoughts on “Day 1 Recap

    whollyrod said:
    June 12, 2014 at 3:40 am

    Thanks for being one of many to make the 2014 ALC so fabulous.

    whollyrod said:
    June 12, 2014 at 3:54 am

    Thank you Robert and the many others that made my first ALC so fabulous.

Leave a Reply

